top of page

 1951 SEASON 
Click on 1951 season to return

Griffith Australian Rules Wind-up Ball

A very large crowd attended the wind-up Ball of the Griffith Australian Rules Football Club held at Hanwood Hall last week.

During the evening, blazers and fountain pens were presented to first and reserve grade players respectively as the result of a successful year's work by the ladies' auxiliary of the club.

At the completion of the presentation by the club president, Mr. Len Polkinghorne, Mr. Dick Bitcon, on behalf of the players, warmly thanked the women members for their gesture which was greatly appreciated.

The following trophies were presented:

Best and fairest, first grade player - Fred Clarke

Most consistent player - Jack Luhrs

Most improved player - Victor Ledwidge

Best club man - Dick Bitcon

Most unselfish player - Fred Hicks

Most serviceable player against Whitton - Cecil Polkinghorne

Best and fairest, reserve grade player - Dave McRae

Most conscientious player - John Diggelmann

A beautiful crystal water set was also presented to coach Ken Hansen from members of the club and supporters.

The Area News - Friday October 5, 1951

bottom of page