top of page

 1956 SEASON 
Click on 1956 season to return

1956 Griffith Australian Rules Football Club Awards 
Thursday, September 13, 1956 at C.W.A. Hall
Best & Fairest: Charlie O'Brien - (E.A. Wood)
Second XVIII
Best & Fairest: Willie Ledwidge - (Fred Bell)
Special Awards
Most Conscientious Junior at Training: Bruce Young - (Stan Forrester)
Best Club man: George Coggan - (Dick Bitcon)

Trophy Donors and Winners for each Home Game
Whitton (April 8)
1sts - Jack Luhrs: Don Maples;  2nds - Hugh McLean: Mick Newman

Narrandera (April 22)
1sts - Roy Taysom: Don Bitcon;  2nds - Frank Polkinghorne: George Coggan

Turvey Park (May 6)
1sts - Noble Guild: John Conlan;  
2nds - Neil Griggs: Bob Tyndall

Ardlethan (May 13)
1sts - Cullen's Butchery: Vic Hathaway;  2nds - Area Footwear: Terry Blair

Leeton (May 27)
1sts - Roy Taysom: Wally Price;  2nds - Henry Gardiner: Ken Grady

Coolamon (June 17)
1sts - Younghusband Ltd: Don Best;  2nds - Clancy': John Diggelmann

Grong Grong-Matong (July 1)
1sts - Area Hotel: Charlie O'Brien;  2nds - Valentine Frocks: Fr. Frank Carroll

Ariah Park-Mirrool (July 15)
1sts - Ted Withnell: Geoff Habel;  2nds - Ted Withnell: Bill Tyndall 

Ganmain (July 29)
1sts - Ron Dalla: Frank Conlan;  2nds - Roy Mackenzie: Bob Brown

1956 GAFCPN.jpg

THE Griffith Aussie Rules men owed all their work of the spread at their 1956 Trophy Night to their Women’s Auxiliary.

Back Row - Left to right: Mrs Grace Ryan, Dorothy Alexander, Mrs Win Price, Mrs Jean Fielder, Mrs Mary Collins, Anne Maloney and Beryl Parker. At the table are Roy Taysom (V.-Pres.), Clarrie Quinlivan (Rugby League Sec.), Jack Luhrs (Sec.), Noble Guild (Pres.), Roy Edwards (Rugby League Pres.), Dick Bitcon (V.-Pres.) and Bill Simmons (Treas.).  (Riverina Advocate - 17 Sept, 1956)

bottom of page