top of page

 1977 SEASON 
Click on 1977  season to return

 GRIFFITH NOTES: "The Sou'wester" June 19, 1977 - No. 10 

By Swan: The biggest crowd ever to witness a club game of the national code turned out to see Griffith defeat Narrandera in our last encounter. The Firsts with the Vickery brothers in the forward line showed dazzling form and kicked 9 goals, Bob Greenwood and Bob McKenzie in the centres and Sid Robins and Ian Wade in the backline all played well.

Kevin Kirkpatrick, playing his 200th game for the Griffith club also went well and congratulations Kevin from the supporters and players.

The First grade award winners: Petrol award (B. P. Maggs Service Station) to Peter Vickery. Denim Daks award, Joe Box.

The Seconds had little trouble in their game and ran out easy winners with the best players Darryl Collis, Norm Alexander, Allan Hicken, Greg Hill and Peter Carey. Dalton award went to Darryl Collis.

The Thirds were no match for the strong Narrandera side and were easily defeated. Best for them were Phil McGarry, Maurice Wood, Darrell Collins, with the Nev Dawson award to Phil McGarry.

State championships last weekend and what a fine performance by the tri-colours. Congratulations to all.

  Notes No. 11 >>>

bottom of page