top of page

Click on 2009 season to return

Round 4 - Sunday May 3, 2009
Riverina Football Netball League
Venue: Griffith Exies Oval 2.10pm
Umpires: Brian Robinson, Ryan Dedini and Gene Hodgins (RUA) 
Griffith ..................... 5.4 .. 7.6 .. 8.9 .. 11.11 (77) 
Leeton-Whitton .... 2.1 .. 5.6 .. 10.10 .. 14.8 (92)

GRIFFITH: Royce Johns, Andrew Cappello, Simon Spiers; Myles Bunn, Brendan Giason, James Smith; Matthew Kenny, Michael Johns, Jason Bertacco; Ben Ford, Matthew Noonan, James Nancarrow; Michael Duncan, Aaron Cocks, Dean Crack; Michael Harris, Jeff Mickan, Brett Owen; James Fallon, Kris Duncan, Rodney Simpkin
LEETON-WHITTON: David Elwin, Craig Townsend, David Harrison; Nick Doolin, Ben Dryburgh, Bruce Gilmour; Giles Lee, Jarrod Gornall, Liam Frazer; Brad Boots, Dean Frazer, Brendan Greatz, Matthew Smith (c-c), Jacob Townsend; Paul Scoullar, Nick Patten, Kabe Stockton; Daniel Sullivan, Nathan Hunter, Paul Payne 

Griffith: D Crack 4, A Cocks 2, M Duncan 2, J Nancarrow, J Fallon, K Duncan 
Leeton-Whitton: P Scoullar 3, L Frazer 3, M Smith 2, D Frazer 2, D Harrison, G Napoli, J Gornall, B Gilmour 

Griffith: M Duncan, M Johns, M Harris, D Crack, J Mickan, J Nancarrow 
Leeton-Whitton: P Scoullar, B Boots, C Townsend, L Frazer, B Dryburgh, J Townsend 

A summary of match report, with thanks
The Leeton-Whitton Crows have pounced on a scratchy Griffith Swans side to record their first win of the Riverina Football League season and claim the bragging rights in the latest grudge match between the two teams. The Swans simply did not convert enough of its trips inside the forward 50m into goals, with a dogged Leeton-Whitton side making the most of its opportunities late in the final quarter.

Griffith coach Gerard Toscan said his team handed back possession too often and were simply beaten to the ball at crucial points of the game. "We did have a lot of chances, we didn't use Aaron Cocks very well I thought, we helicoptered the ball to him too many times or kicked it over his head," Toscan said. 
Jimmy Nancarrow started his impressive game with a goal in the first term but failed to find the mark for the rest of the game, despite having another six shots at goal. Dean Crack and Kris Duncan were busy in the first term to help the home side to a 23-point quarter time lead.

Two behinds for hitting the post stopped a Crows onslaught in the second, as they wrestled back control of the game with superior clearances giving the visitors clean ball from contests. Crows' ruckman Paul Scoullar proved what a quality he will be this season to be a big target up forward for Leeton-Whitton, on his way to kicking three majors for the game.

However, Swans ruckman Michael Harris more than held his own in the middle despite giving away a big height advantage. Another two Dean Crack goals kept the Swans in the lead at the long break by 12 points, but two quick goals to Scoullar gave the Crows momentum. Leeton-Whitton's Liam Frazer gave his side the lead for the first time in the third quarter, with tensions beginning to run high.

A 50-metre free gifted a goal to Jarrod Gornall after a brief scuffle, with Crows' coach Matt Smith sent from the field after going on with the fight. Two quick goals by Mick Duncan gave the home fans hope of a come-from-behind victory, but majors from Dean Frazer and Smith snatched back the lead for the final time.  (By Scott Hazlewood  - The Area News, Monday May 4, 2009). 

OTHER MATCHES - SAT: Mangoplah-CUE 16.12 (108) def Wagga 11.3 (69), Narrandera 15.11 (101) def Eastern Hawks 13.12 (90), North Wagga 7.7 (49) def by Turvey Park 19.15 (129); SUN: Coolamon 11.12 (78) def Ganmain-GGM 6.8 (44).

Reserves: Leeton-Whitton 14.10 (94) def Griffith 9.6 (60)
Goals: S Huxtable 4, M Tyndall 2, J Tyrell, A Huskins, J Harris
Best players: S Huxtable, L Piccolo, J Ryan, D Best, C Harrison  
Under 17: Leeton-Whitton 20.10 (130) def Griffith 2.9 (21)
Goals: D Bartter, A Tarr 
Best players: H Porter, B Ciscato, K Charles, B McRae, B Dwight

bottom of page