top of page

 2023 SEASON 

Click on 2023 season to return

Grand Final - Saturday 16 September 2023 @ 2.45pm
Riverina Football Netball League
Venue: Narrandera Sportsground
Umpires: Ryan Dedini, Symon Tardrew and Tim Beard (RUA)
Griffith .............. 2.4 .. 4.5 .. 8.8 .. 8.8 (56)
Turvey Park .... 4.3 .. 8.7 .. 10.7 .. 13.9 (87)

GRIFFITH: Sam Foley, Alec McCormick, Nicholas Conlan; Taine Moraschi,  Charlie Cunial, Dean Simpson; Jay Summers, Jack Rowston (capt), Mason Rosengreen; Oliver Bartter, Patrick Payne, Kahlan Spencer; Henry Delves, James Toscan, James Girdler; Nathan Richards, Rhys Pollock, Alex Page; Bailey Morrissey, Broden Spencer, Daniel Peruzzi, Kieran Ruyg. Coach - Greg Dreyer.
TURVEY PARK: Ben Lewington, Tim Doyle, Josh Ashcroft (capt); Jack Haggar, Andrew Emery, Jesse Margosis; Luke Mazzocchi, Ethan Weidemann, Jack Granvill; Harry Stapleton, Rhett Weidemann, Joel Peters; Baxter Wallett, Bradley Ashcroft, Hayden Smith; Antony Forato, Luke Fellows, Callum Dooley; Darcy Irvine, Matthew Ness, Lachlan Leary, Lachlan McRae. Coach - Michael Mazzocchi. 
Griffith -  A Page 4, H Delves 2, J Girdler, R Pollock 
Turvey Park - B Ashcroft 5, L Fellows 2, J Haggar 2, E Weidemann, J Peters, L Leary, H Smith
Griffith - A Page, T Moraschi, R Pollock, H Delves, D Simpson, J Rowston
Turvey Park - L Fellows (Ron Hutchins Medal), A Forato, E Weidemann, B Ashcroft, A Emery, J Peters
A summary of match report, with thanks - by Jimmy Meiklejohn
AFTER 21 long years, Turvey Park are back on top of the Riverina Football League after defeating Griffith by 31 points at Narrandera Sportsground. The Bulldogs fended off a number of challengers from a very competitive Swans' outfit to run out deserving 13.9 (87) to 8.8 (56) winners. Bulldogs coach Michael Mazzocchi etched his name into Turvey Park folklore in his last game as senior coach and was thrilled with the way his side performed in the biggest game of the year. "It's unbelievable," Maccocchi said.
"Just incredible how the game panned out and I suppose when you are planning the game you hope it goes like that. "I've been involved in premierships before when you put so many things in place and the players don't do them during the year and then it just clicks on game day and that's what happen today. "You need a bit of luck, and the ball did come out our way but structurally we structured up and everything we spoke about during the week about how to stop Griffith the boys did it.

"I was watching them off the ball and they were setting up properly and there was none of this one bloke out of the place and they cut us apart. "Everyone played their role so it's just unbelievable and it's a great feeling. It's going to be super great just to get back and see all the supporters and they are just going to be pumped and all the committee. "It's just great."
It was the Swans who got off to a fast start in the opening term with quick goals to James Girdler and Alex Page giving Griffith an early lead 12-point lead. However back-to-back goals from Brad Ashcroft soon levelled the scores before majors from Ethan Weidemann and Luke Fellows late in the term saw the Bulldogs head into the first break up by 11 points.
Page kicked the first goal of the second quarter to reduce the margin to five before the Bulldogs hit back with the next three to jump ahead by 26 points. Page kicked his third for the game to respond fr the Swans before Ashcroft kicked his fifth in the first half to send the Bulldogs into the sheds at halftime up comfortably.
The Swans rallied in the third term with goals to Rhys Pollock and Henry Delves seeing the margin come back to just two goals before Jack Haggar kicked his second for the afternoon to give the Bulldogs some more breathing room.

However, the Swans surged again with Page and Delves both converting successfully to reduce the margin to just five before a late Fellows reply saw the Bulldogs enter the last change up by 11 points. With momentum on their side, it was all the Bulldogs in the last as they kicked the only three goals in the final quarter to secure an emotional premiership victory.

 Fellows was named best on ground after an outstanding performance for the Bulldogs while Antony Forato was also excellent as was Ethan Weideman. (The Daily Advertiser - Monday September 18, 2023). 

Coolamon Rovers .... 3.6 .. 9.12 .. 12.14 .. 17.18 (120) 
Turvey Park ............... 2.2 .. 3.4 .. 5.5 .. 8.6 (54)  

Goals - Coolamon: C McCormack 4, A Carroll 3, H Wakefield 2, C Neyland 2, W Alchin 2, D Mullen, R Mitchell, M Barnes, L Bell, 
Turvey Park: S Jones 2, H Woods, R Leary, C Harmer, D Smith, B Ochieng, J Smith
Best players - Coolamon: W Alchin (Stewart-Ryan Medal), R Mitchell, D Mullen, A Carroll, J Carroll, J Maddox
Turvey Park - R Leary, H Woods, K Smith, O Jenkins, B Harmer, L Quilter

Coolamon Rovers: Mitch Robinson, Jeremy Bradley, Luke McLoughlin; Jett Bullifant, Richard Fifield, Zac Lewis; Will Alchin, Daragh Mullen, Jayden Carroll; Hugh Wakefield, Monty Barnes, Luke Bell; Charlie McCormack, Connor Neyland, Alex Carroll; Will McGowan, Reilly Mitchell, Jamie Maddox; Lachie Owens, Zac Whittenbury, Isaac Buchanan, Tom Besgrove.
Turvey Park: Geordie Charleson, Jack Armstrong, Kynan Smith; Jesse Cunningham, Cooper Harmer, Lachlan Quilter; Baxter Harmer, Harry Woods, Deacon Smith; Jacob Cain, Oscar Jenkins, Sam Jones; Hayden Cook, Joben Smith, Joe Cole; Harry Voss, Rhys Leary, Jake Moroney; Michael Ness, Max Jenkins, Benson Ochieng, Harry Hallcroft.

Umpires: Craig Fletcher, Michael Jones and Sarah Jamieson (RUA).

Under 17.5
Mangoplah-CUE .... 2.1 .. 4.4 .. 5.5 .. 9.6 (60)
Turvey Park ............ 2.1 .. 2.1 .. 3.3 .. 4.6 (30)

Goals - Mangoplah-CUE: J Warden 3, D Okerenyang 3, H Wheeler, H Brown, F McIntyre
Turvey Park: W Voss, W Scott, T Wilson, H Higgins
Best players - Mangoplah-CUE: D Okerenyang (Col Kohlhagen Medal), L Crittenden, S Pigram, L Pulver, S Ngudi, M Waller
Turvey Park: T Wilson, B Toohey, H Higgins, C Stratton, J O'Connor, H Isaac

Mangoplah-CUE: Mark Walker, Henry Roberts, Cooper Manson; Gilbert Ruwald, Liam Crittenden, Skipper Pigram; Murray Beer, Sunny Martens, Charlie Doherty; Cody Reynoldson, Sebit Ngudu, Henry Angel; Harrison Wheeler, Harvey Brown, Lewis Pulver; Daniel Okerenyang, Xavier Moller, Jack Warden; Felix McIntyre, Keenan Wood, Charlie Hounsell, Freddy Corbett, Harry Smith, Oscar Gianniotis

Turvey Park: Jazzey Wallett, Lucas Livio, Augustine von Marburg; Ashton Wolter, William Voss, Hunter Higgins; Ben Toohey, Hamish Curry, Ben Quilter; Archie Jenkins, Harry Rynehart, Tom Wilson; Harry Isaac, Nate Wetherill, Joseph O'Connor; Alex Weightman, Charlie Stratton, Joseph Butt; Joshua Preston, Jack Stockton, Sam Stout, Will Scott, Henry Keogh, Patrick Bryant.
Umpires: Gavin Hoffert, Shannon Waterman and Kieran Collins (RUA)

NETBALL: A Grade: Mangoplah-CUE 56 def Griffith 38 (BOC-Ash Reynoldson), A Reserve: Mangoplah-CUE 45 def Wagga Tigers 41 (BOC-Sophie Edmunds), B Grade: Griffith 30 def Turvey Park 29 (BOC-Myah Sergi), C Grade: Griffith 41 def Coolamon 32 (BOC-Sara Negus), Under 17: Turvey Park 43 def Wagga Tigers 32 (BOC-Zoe Curry).

bottom of page