top of page

Grand Final - Sunday September 19, 2010
Riverina Football Netball League. Gate: $26,511
Venue: Narrandera Sportsground 2.30pm
Umpires: Gene Hodgins, Scott Crowley and Paul McCormack (RUA)
Ganmain-GGM .... 1.2 .. 8.2 .. 8.6 .. 14.8 (92) 
Turvey Park ......... 3.1 .. 4.5 .. 7.7 .. 7.8 (50)

GANMAIN-GRONG GRONG-MATONG: Wes Kiley, Marc Kelly, Paul Hamblin; Luke Walsh, Clint Taylor, Andrew Roberts; Sam Milne, Mitch Carroll, Luke Kohlhagen, Mitchell Steele, Christen McPherson, Kirk Hamblin; Aaron Clayden, Matt Rava, Lachlan Steward; Jacob Olsson, Nathan McPherson, Daniel Rankin (c-c); Ben Walsh, Jesse Lander, Daniel Hitchens, Curtis Steele 
TURVEY PARK: Blair Campbell, Jeff Fletcher, Brad Burkinshaw (c-c); David Johnson, Chris Cerato, Harry Cunningham; Tim Beckmans, Daniel Toose, Ryan Blundell; Truman Carroll, John Hoey, Jack Brooks; Dean Ward, James Elliott, Dusty Brown; Andrew Craig, Dane Campbell, Chris Beckmans; Riley McPherson, Levi Pollett, Matthew Ness, Seth Roberts
Ganmain-GGM: A Clayden 3, S Milne 2, D Hitchens 2, K Hamblin 2, M Rava 2, M Steele, C McPherson, C Taylor 
Turvey Park: J Elliott 2, D Campbell 2, J Hoey, C Beckmans, T Beckmans
Ganmain-GGM: M Carroll (Ron Hutchins melledal), S Milne. J Olsson, D Rankin, C McPherson, L Walsh 
Turvey Park: C Cerato, R Blundell, D Toose, J Elliott, H Cunningham, T Beckmans
A summary of match report, with thanks
Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong etched its name into the record books with a runaway 42-point Riverina Football League grand final victory over Turvey Park at Narrandera Sportsground. The Lions completed a perfect season with a hard-fought seven goal victory over a gallant Turvey Park outfit, 14.8 (92) to 7.8 (50). Turvey Park was considered the Lions' biggest danger in September and the Bulldogs proved it on several occasions yesterday, forcing the Lions into a surge on two separate occasions.

The Bulldogs led at quarter time, before GGGM kicked away, then again come back to narrow the margin to just five points at the final change. It was GGGM's second kick that packed the most punch though as the Lions ran in six unanswered goals in the final quarter to celebrate a third consecutive premiership in fine style.

The premiership was a fitting result for the Lions, who finished with 20 wins for the season without defeat. GGGM on-baller Mitch Carroll was awarded the Ron Hutchins medal for best-on-ground in the win. Carroll did plenty of hard work through the middle of the ground, as he has done for the past two seasons, and was well-supported by a band of Lions teammates.

Sam Milne was super on the wing, taking several vital marks and winning countless one-on-one contests to give the Lions plenty of attack. Jacob Olsson was dominant in the centre bounces throughout the day, while Daniel Rankin and Luke Kohlhagen were very good through the middle of the ground. Clint Taylor proved a brick wall at centre-half-back, while Aaron Clayden was an effective target up forward for the Lions and ended with three goals.

Harry Cunningham was an absolute standout standout for Turvey Park across half-back. The 16-year-old provided speed and a mountain of run and continued to spark the Bulldogs throughout the day. Chris Cerato was outstanding at centre-half-back, while James Elliott played a good game up forward for the Buildogs. (By Matt Malone - The Area News, Monday September 20, 2010). 

Coolamon ................ 5.3 .. 8.7 ..10.8 .. 14.11 (95) 
Mangoplah-CUE .... 2.2 .. 2.3 .. 4.4 .. 6.4 (40)    

Goals: Coolamon: H Dyce 2, B Gibson 2, D Billingham 2, Z Robinson 2, R Bartholomew, M Stephenson, G Worner, D Crocker, Z Gibbons, G Rudd 
Mangoplah-CUE:  G Bruce 2, X Higgins 2, B Coombe, G Noye 
Best players: Coolamon: Z Robinson, G Worner, Z Gibbons, G Rudd, R Maslin, A Willis
Mangoplah-CUE: S Wheeler, A Herbert, N Lawson, B Pattison, G Noye, L Thompson
Umpires: Paul Smith, Hugh Vickers and Greg Walsh (RUA)

Under 17 
Turvey Park ........... 1.4 .. 4.6 .. 7.8 .. 9.12 (66)   
Leeton-Whitton .... 3.0 .. 11.6 ..18.8 .. 23.12 (150)

Goals: Turvey Park: T Gaynor 3, C Gardner 2, J Sykes, B Handy, P Cattrell, J Hill
Leeton-Whitton: G Commins 12, J Helson 3, C Oldershawm J Pattit, J Hillman, L O'Callaghan, B Emerson, T Meline, J Townsend, T Jones
Best players: Turvey Park: A LeLeivre, J Hill, T Gaynor, G Ward, B Stapleton, T Kenny 
Leeton-Whitton: J Spina, T Jones, J Townsend, M Dryburgh, J Hillman, G Commins
Umpires: Pat O'Donoghue, John Hilton and Cameron Warner (RUA).

Netball - A grade: Wagga Tigers 52 d Griffith 38; B grade: Turvey Park 53 d Wagga Tigers 41; C grade: Griffith 40 d Leeton-Whitton 36; C2 grade: Mangoplah-CUE 46 d Wagga Tigers 39; Juniors: Turvey Park 36 d Leeton-Whitton 30.

bottom of page