top of page

Round 17 - Sunday August 21, 2011
Riverina Football Netball League
Venue: Kindra Park 2.10pm
Umpires: Wayne Smith, Rob Wilson and Paul McCormack (RUA)
Coolamon ...... 2.4 .. 5.5 .. 7.8 .. 10.11 (71)
Griffith ........... 4.1 .. 7.4 .. 10.6 .. 10.6 (66)

GRIFFITH: Dean Catanzariti, Glen Snaidero, James Smith; Brendan Giason, Matthew Noonan, Jonathon Gastin; Toby Blissett, Michael Johns, Che Jenkins; Mathew Crack, Tom Buckley, Dean Crack; John Evans, James Toscan, Beau Runnalls; Jeff Mickan, Guy Orton, Michael Duncan; Luke Piccolo, Kris Duncan, Theo Valeri 
Coolamon: J Redfern 4, M Gibbons 2, N Pleming, W Archibald, L Maloney, S Easdown 
Griffith: B Runnalls 3, G Orton 2, T Buckley, M Crack, J Gastin, J Toscan, K Duncan
Coolamon: J Redfern, N Pleming, R Chamberlain, Murray Stephenson, M Robinson, G Aki
Griffith: G Snaidero, T Blissett, M Noonan, M Duncan, M Crack, C Jenkins
A summary of match report, with thanks
A scoreless final quarter by the Griffith Swans has thrown the race for the fifth Riverina Football League finals place wide open, with the Coolamon Hoppers storming home to claim a five-point victory at Kindra Park yesterday.

The Swans looked to have dome much of the hard work in the rugged game, leading by 16 points at three quarter time. But despite a number of possessions inside their forward 50 in the final minutes of the game, Griffith wasn’t able to put points on the board.

Griffith coach Damien Scott was left to wonder what happened in the final term, saying his side had put themselves in the box seat to record a huge win ahead of a hopeful finals place. 
In what was an arm-wrestle for the first three quarters, Griffith’s defensive unit, led by Matt Noonan kept one of the most potent forward lines in the competition quiet. Scott attributed much of the side’s success through the first three quarters to Noonan and company, with the away side leading by nine at the first break, before it snuck out to just 11 at the long break.

Griffith was up and about in the third term and looked set to go on with the job, before the Hoppers fought back and made the Swans pay for their poor decision making. Joe Redfern (four), Michael Gibbons (two) kicked multiples for the home side, while Beau Runnalls (three) and Guy Orton (two) did their best to get the menin red and white over the line. Noonan, Glen Snaidero, Mick Duncan, Mathew Crack and James Toscan were also excellent in a losing side.  (By Scott Hazlewood) – Monday August 22, 2011).

OTHER MATCHES - SAT: Wagga 22.11 (143) def Mangoplah-CUE 6.7 (43); Leeton-Whitton 10.14 (74) def Turvey Park 6.6 (42), Narrandera 11.7 (73) def by Ganmain-GGM 16.11 (107); Collingullie-AK, bye. 

Reserves: Coolamon 21.14 (134) def Griffith 0.5 (5)
Best players: T Webb, C Harrison, M Hogan, J Ryan, C Lugton
Under 17: Griffith 11.11 (77) def Coolamon 8.7 (55)
Goals: D Cassidy 3, A Blissett 3, P Whittard 2, L Peruzzi, Tom Valeri, T West
Best players: Tom Valeri, M Griffin, J Evans, D Cassidy, P Rose, M Peruzzi

bottom of page