top of page

Click on 2007 season to return

Grand Final - Sunday September 23, 2007
Riverina Football League. Gate: $26,847 @ $10
Venue: Narrandera Sportsground
Umpires: Brett McDonald, Gene Hodgins and Greg Walsh (RUA)
Narrandera .......... 1.2 .. 3.6 .. 4.8 .. 6.13 (49)
Wagga Tigers ..... 1.6 .. 4.10 .. 11.15 .. 16.17 (113) 

NARRANDERA IMPERIAL: Peter Bloomfield, Ashley Thomson, Chris Walsh; Chris Smith, Damon Burden, Stuart Hutchins; Jeremy Orme, Nic Hetherington, Dale Hugo; Tim Sullivan, Peter Heath, Tim Mathieson; Tim Durnan, Dean Hopwood, Liam Richmond; Lenny Lyons, Danny Campbell, Jamie Grintell (c-c); Hayden Hutchins, Sam Martin, Drew Kenna, Jonathon Dawson
WAGGA TIGERS: Josh Gaynor, Matthew Noonan, Ryan Miller; Darren Cook, Daniel Davey, Michael Delaney; Jason Spivey, Steven Priest, Alex Van Ruiswyk; Logan Knight, Marc Sheppard, Mitch Colvin; Daniel Quee, Andrew Priest, Matt Walder (c-c); Chris Drum, Tom Power, Ryan Plant; James Millikan, Andrew Kamman, Trent Garner, Wayne Myers
Narrandera: T Mathieson 2, P Heath, T Sullivan, L Richmond, T Durnan
Wagga: M Walder 4, A Priest 3, R Plant 2, D Quee 2, W Myers, J Millikan, M Colvin, T Power, L Knight
Narrandera: D Burden, C Smith, P Heath, A Thomson, P Bloomfield, D Hugo
Wagga: M Walder, S Priest, M Noonan, R Plant, T Power, J Spivey

A summary of match report, with thanks
Wagga Tigers completed the perfect return to the Riverina Football League with a 64-point thumping of Narrandera to claim the premiership. In front of a big crowd at Narrandera Sportsground, Tigers put a dismal opening half behind them to take pot yet another RFL premiership 16.17 (113) to 6.13 (49).

It was a grand final victory the Tigers faithful will long remember, helping ease some of the pain experienced during the club's five years of hardship in AFL Canberra.  In a huge effort from the newly crowned premiers, Tigers put behind them a season of dramas, including a grand final preparation that was almost ruined by injuries. Darren Cook and Marc Sheppard played while Jason Spivey made a miraculous return from arm surgery and all three played crucial roles in the victory.

While the premiership will be one to savour, the game itself failed to live up to expectations. In an ugly opening term, each team only managed one goal apiece, with Tigers six behinds helping them to a narrow four-point lead at the first change. Unfortunately for the spectators, the standard of football did not improve in the second stanza as Tigers slowly grind away to a 10-point lead.

With the premiership still well and truly up for grabs at the start of the second half, it was the men from Tigerland who seized the moment. Tigers started dominating the centre clearances and stoppages and kicked seven goals to one in the third quarter to break the game open and set up a match-winning lead. Having played very ordinary football throughout the first three quarters, Narrandera had one last opportunity to lift and break its 21-year premiership drought.

But the Eagles had already clearly conceded defeat as at times, their focus shifted off football and onto the man, highlighted by a Liam Richmond outburst that ended in a report and red card. "Tigers sealed the win with five last quarter goals compared to Narrandera's two.

They rolled the dice on several injured stars and this time, it worked. Spivey was the best man on the ground up until half-time while Darren Cook was not far behind him until coming undone with a career-ending shoulder injury late in the second term. Matt Walder was named best on ground, but it was hard to find a better player over the four quarters than Steven Priest.

Tigers' midfield of Walder, Priest and Tom Power dominated, especially in the second half. Matt Noonan, Josh Gaynor and Ryan Miller did a sensational job in defence while Mick Delaney tagged Narrandera coach Jamie Grintell out of the game. Andrew Priest was a standout up forward for the premiers while James Millikan and Ryan Plant rounded out Tigers' best. Having everything fall their way in the lead up to yesterday's decider, Narrandera's chances of breaking its 21-year premiership drought have never been so far away.

(The Area News - Monday September 24, 2007) 

Coolamon .... 0.2 .. 4.6 .. 7.12 .. 10.12 (72)
Griffith ......... 4.1 .. 7.4 .. 8.7 .. 9.9 (63)

Goals - Coolamon: T Garrett 3, H Dyce, M Jarrett, P McKelvie, S Martin, C Inch, J Mattingly, S McGowan
Griffith: P Rowston 3, J Gastin 2, J Harris, R Duncan, K Duncan, D Jamieson 
Best players - Coolamon:  P McKelvie, S Martin, M Knox, T Garrett, H Dyce, C Inch
Griffith: D Jamieson, A Cappello, R Duncan, C Lugton, G Foley, D Catanzariti
Coolamon Rovers: Hamish Dyce (c-c), Mark Bradley, Brendon McPherson, Scott Martin, Jason Mattingly, Daniel Crocker, Paul McKelvie, Cecil Parr, Jeremy Crocker, Brenton Cooke, Brad Mattingly, David Billingham, Ky Garrett, Tim Garrett, Mitchell Jarrett, Simon Crocker, Mathew Knox, Stuart McGowan, Caleb Inch, Aaron Edyvean, Jacob Tuohey, Heath Hutcheon, Marcus Chobozyaski, Michael O'Mealy 
Griffith: Daniel McGreal, Craig Lugton, Dean Catanzariti; Nathan Kite, James Smith, Robert Bridgen; Wayne Tyndall, Jonathon Gastin, David Pasin; Larry Cavallo, Michael Harris, Chris Forwood; Jeff Harris, Phillip Rowston, Graham Foley; Andrew Cappello, Rodney Duncan, Dean Jamieson; Kris Duncan, Brad Woolner, Greg Dreyer, Matthew Hogan 
Umpires: Brian Robinson, Ed Sully and Paul Smith (RUA)

Under 18
Leeton-Whitton ..... 5.3 .. 10.7 .. 14.10 .. 17.13 (115)
Wagga Tigers ....... 3..4 .. 4.6 .. 12.10 .. 16.13 (109)

Goals: Leeton-Whitton: P Iannelli 4, B Burley 3, S Collis 2, J Gale 2, A Gordon 2, A Norton, E Lee, A Moncreif, K Moon
Wagga: M Etchells 4, C Johnson 4, L Gestier 3, S Hillier 2, M Comerford, J Lucas, J Powell
Best players: Leeton-Whitton: P Iannelli, N Hunter, D Heness, M Vogels, J Gale, J Jeffries
Wagga: J Davis, T Bassett, J Powell, C Johnson, P Delaney, L Gestier
Leeton-Whitton: Ryan Dunn, Josh Jefferies, Nathan Hunter, Simon Collis, Ross Ashton, Brendan Burley, Nathan Schbert, Ben Thompson, Paul Iannelli, Matthews Vogels, Daniel Heness, Todd Hamilton, Keiran Moon, Aaron Gordon, Evan Lee, Craig Townsend, James Yeo, Kabe Stockton, Matthew McCallum, Adam Norton, Brent Freeman, Andrew Moncrieff, Michael Petulla, Justin Gale
Wagga Tigers: Mathew Etchells, Sam Gaynor, Jacob Osbeiston, James Hodges, Matt Comerford, Jack Davis, Jacob Powell, Simon Hillier, Zac Bentley, Warren Bartlett, Brendan, Flanigan, Luke Gestier, Brenton Crawford, Tom Bassett, Paul Battenally, Ben Mackenzie, Trent Garner, Tim Smith, Cam Johnson, Michael Connolly, Jeremy Lucas, Patrick Delaney, Andrew Dutton, Jack Kilfoyle 
Umpires: Luke Olsen, John Hilton and Simon Ross (RUA)

bottom of page