top of page

Click on 2006 season to return

Grand Final - Sunday September 24, 2006
Riverina Football League. Gate: $20,735 
Venue: Narrandera Sportsground
Umpires: Brett Webb, Duncan Potts and Greg Walsh (RUA)
Ganmain-GGM ....... 2.6 .. 8.13 .. 8.19 .. 13.23 (101)
Leeton-Whitton ..... 2.3 .. 4.5 .. 8.6 .. 9.8 (62)

GANMAIN-GRONG GRONG-MATONG: Paul Lucas, Adam Symons, Drew Symons; Chad Hamblin, Christen McPherson, Brett Lenon; Luke Walsh, Ed Sullivan, Paul Hamblin; Marc Geppert, Christin Macri (c-c), Mitchell Steele; Matt Rava, Anthony Carroll, Daniel Underwood; Scott Hamblin, Nathan McPherson, Brandon Ryan; Marc Braybon, Justin Evans, Luke Habel, Warwick Smith
LEETON-WHITTON: Matthew Flagg, Greg Looby, Tim Doyle; David Sullivan, Ben Dryburgh, Travis Irvin; Brad Boots, Matthew Sharman, David Elwin; Steven Iannelli, Danny Baxter, Simon Piltz; Daryl Clayton, Damian Lang (c-c), Graeme Dale; Kurt Bullock, Jamie Broadbent, Drew Dunscombe; Dale Symes, David Harrison, Nick Patten, Matthew Lang
Ganmain-GGM: A Carroll 4, C Macri 2, M Steele 2, M Geppert 2, N Ryan, D Underwood, B Lenon
Leeton-Whitton: D Lang 3, D Clayton 2, D Baxter, D Dunscombe, T Doyle, J Broadbent
Ganmain-GGM: N McPherson (Ron Hutchins Medal), C McPherson, S Hamblin, B Ryan, M Steele, A Carroll
Leeton-Whitton: B Boots, D Dunscombe, J Broadbent, S Ianelli, D Elwin, T Irvin
A summary of match report, with thanks
Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong secured its third Riverina Football premiership with a hard-fought 39-point win over Leeton-Whitton at Narrandera Sportsground. Despite not producing one of their more impressive performances of the year, the Lions were still good enough to run away with the game in the final term to record an easy 13.23 (101) to 9.8 (62) win. 

Although not the prettiest of wins, the current Lions group ensured they will go down as one of the most dominant teams in RFL history by securing the three-peat with 10 consecutive wins to finish the season. After holding a comfortable 32-point lead at half-time, the Lions let the game slip away in the third quarter as the Crows ran in four unanswered goals to close within 13-points at the final change.

But with the wind behind them the Lions responded in the best possible fashion, booting five of the six final term goals to send their fan into raptures. While every one of the 22 Lions put in serviceable performances, on-baller Nathan McPherson was awarded the Ron Hutchins Medal for best on ground. 

The blustery conditions made for a scrappy affair with both teams struggling to gain any ascendancy in the opening term as the Lions battled to a three-point lead at quarter-time. GGGM asserted its authority on the game in the second term with midfielder Mitch Steele and full-forward Anthony Carroll combining for the first five goals of the quarter.

To make matters worse for the Crows, quality on-baller Matt Sharman was yellow-carded for an altercation with an umpire and it left Leeton-Whitton a man down with the breeze. The Lions held the Crows out for the final 10 minutes of the quarter and entered half-time with what appeared to be a match-winning 32-point break.

But with the wind at their backs, the Crows rallied and slowly but surely got back into the game. Two goals apiece to full-forward Damien Lang and livewire Daryl Clayton while keeping the Lion goalless moved the Crows within 13 points at the final change. With the premiership up for the taking, the Lions snared five of the six goals for the quarter to take a well-deserved third-straight flag.

While Crows full-back Greg Looby and Carroll shared the points in their duel, the Lions full-forward booted four goals and missed just as many to help the Lions over the line. GGGM captain-coach Christin Macri and 20-year-old Marc Geppert proved to be a lethal combination across the half-forward line for the Lions and were among the premiers' best, snaring two goals apiece.

While Nathan McPherson was named best on ground, the entire Lions' midfield brigade was more serviceable with Mitch Steele, Brandon Ryan, Eddie Sullivan and Luke Walsh playing major roles. Lions' centre half back Christen McPherson and fellow defender Adam Symons did a terrific job on a historic day for the premiers. Meantime, the Crows lost no admirers with 17-year-old Bradley Boots exceptional along with Drew Dunscombe, Matt Sharman and co-coach Jamie Broadbent.  (The Area News - Monday September 25, 2006).

Mangoplah-CUE ....... 3.2 .. 6.3 .. 10.8 .. 11.13 (79)
Eastern Hawks ......... 2.1 .. 4.2 .. 7.3 .. 9.5 (59)

Goals - Mangoplah-CUE: J Warden 2, C Goode 2, P Treloar 2, B Roberson 2, M Byrne, S Neiberding, C Websdale
Eastern Hawks: M McPherson 3, J Grieve 3, S Jones 2, J Richards
Best players - Mangoplah-CUE: B Roberson (Ryan-Stuart Medal), S Bennett, L Kendall, W Smith, T Smeeth, S Neiberding
Eastern Hawks: B Limbrick, M Whitehead, M McPherson, J Grieve, J Solway, R Campbell
Mangoplah-CUE:- Brad Carroll, Luke Kendall, Shaun Bennett, Brad Roberson, Shaun Neiberding, Wayne Smith, Zeke Creasy, Jeff Millar, Peter Byrne, Mick Byrne, Stephen Wheeler, Craig Websdale, Brad Pattison, Peter Treloar, Casey Goode, James Corrie, Tim Smeeth, Jason Kendall, Daniel Roberts, Trent Giltrap, Michael Cooke, Jai Warden; Coach: Lew Sanbrook
Eastern Hawks:- Brett Limbrick (coach), Craig DePiazza, James Richards, Ryan Girling, Josh Hack, Michael McPherson, Dean Spencer, Michael Whitehead, Julian Amos, Mark Adams, Paul Hull, Nick Reid, James Macauslan, Wayne Rolla, Justin Coughlan, Jeremy Solway, Damien Cheney, Stuart Jones, Tom Green, Joel Grieve, Ryan Campbell, No. 35
Umpires: Scott Crowley, Brian Robinson and Rob Wilson (RUA)

Under 18
Ganmain-GGM ....... 3.2 .. 5.3 .. 9.5 .. 13.5 (83)
Leeton-Whitton ..... 5.2 .. 9.4 .. 11.6 .. 14.8 (92)

Goals - Ganmain-GGM: J Conway 6, D Hitchens 4, M Kelly, K Hamblin, D Walsh
Leeton-Whitton: B Dunn 3, A Gordon 2, N Schubert 2, N Doolin 2, J Brassil 2, S Collis, S Hillier, B Elwin 
Best players - Ganmain-GGM: M Kelly (Kohlhagen Medal), D Hitchens, J Conway, T Riddell, P Walsh, D Panaho
Leeton-Whitton: B Dunn, N Doolin, M Vogele, R Dunn, S Collis, C Townsend
Ganmain-GGM:- Kirk Hamblin (capt), Lachlan Steward, Jarrrod Conway, David Karlberg, Pat Walsh, Travis Guy, David Panaho, Brent Carroll, Daniel Carmichael, Lachlan Birch, Daniel Gawne, Josh Eisenhauer, Daniel Hitchens, Marc Kelly, Ben Trevaskis, Todd Riddell, Mitch Fennessy, Todd Webber, Wayne Bryon, Bradley Hare, Mathew Kelly, Clayton Hamblin, Sam Noble, Ben Griffiths. Eddie Sullivan (coach).
Leeton-Whitton:- Brady Dunn (capt), Simon Hillier, Ryan Dunn, Craig Townsend, Nick Doolin, David Lashbrook, Josh Jeffries, Billy Conroy, Simon Collis, Nathan Hunter, Luke Aylett, Nathan Schubert, Brendan Burley, David Gordon, Paul Iannelli, Matt Vogele, Joe Brassil, Todd Hamilton, Ben Boots, Kieran Moon, Aaron Gordon, Evan Lee, Ben Elwin, Anthony Celi. Travis Irvin (coach).
Umpires: Sam Graham, John Hilton and Greg Smith (RUA).

Netball - A grade: Griffith 48 d Coolamon 38; B grade: Griffith 33 d Coolamon 30; C grade: Turvey Park 26 d Griffith 22; Juniors: Griffith 20 d Narrandera 19.

bottom of page