top of page

Grand Final - Sunday September 23, 2012
Riverina Fooball Netball League. Gate: $33,044
Venue: Narrandera Sportsground 2.30pm
Umpires: Luke Olsen, Sam Wemyss and Tim Beard (RUA)
Collingullie AK ... 2.4 .. 3.6 .. 5.7 .. 6.8 (44)
Narrandera .........1.2 .. 5.4 .. 8.6 .. 12.11 (83)

COLLINGULLIE-ASHMONT-KAPOOKA: Chris Gow, Kallan Sykes, Tom Edgar; James Wild, Will Haines, Ned Mortimer; Ben Absolum, Curtis Allen, Daniel Kennedy; Brad Aiken, James Morris, Matthew Withers; Ryan Dean, Marc Geppart, Joshua McKenzie; Josh Meiselbach, Brett Lenon, Chris Gordon; Jack Egan, Todd Hayes, Nathan Fuller, Ben MacKenzie 
NARRANDERA IMPERIAL: Wes Kiley, Jonathon Doyle, Glenn Currie; Damon Burden, Zac Williams, Mark Rice; Tim Sullivan, Kurt Masters, Heath Russell; Drew Kenna, Brett Powell, Nic Hetherington; Adam Sangston, Andrew Johnston, Jay Kickett; Phillip Aumann, Jim Rice (capt), Tim Mathieson; Jakob Vearing, Tyler Webster, Jed Hillman, Shaun Light
Collingullie-AK: M Geppert 2, J McKenzie, J Morris, B Mackenzie, M Withers
Narrandera: P Aumann 3, A Johnston 3, J Kickett, S Light, K Masters, N Hetherington, A Sangston, H Russell 
Collingullie-AK: C Gow, C Allen, M Withers, B Absolum, J Egan, J Meiselbach 
Narrandera: Z Williams, G Currie, D Kenna, P Aumann, T Mathieson, J Doyle 

Mangoplah-CUE .... 1.1 .. 3.3 .. 3.4 .. 5.8 (38)
Wagga Tigers ......... 0.5 .. 1.7 .. 4.8 .. 7.10 (52)

Goals - Mangoplah-CUE: T Harris 2, S Burge, D Jones, B Coombe
Wagga: J Oehm, M Connolly, G Scott, T Hensgen, E Fellows, J Smith, S Ryan
Best players - Mangoplah-CUE: M Phyland, K Rowbotham, B Coombe, C Higgins, L Davis, X Higgins
Wagga: S Gaynor, J Smith, J Bradbury, R Colvin, E Hull, S Pearce
Mangoplah-CUE: Toby Harris, Ben Coombe, Dean Jones, Scott Burge, Xavier Higgins, Chris Higgins, Kade Rowbotham, Mathew Phyland, Grant Bruce, Travis Cohalan, Jason Roberts, Will Hillis, Josh Byrne, Will Pleming, Will Ryan, Brent Heydon, Chris Zielinski, Riley Spink, Drew Lawrence, Jake Phillips, Mick Byrne
Wagga Tigers: Jason Smith, Michael Connolly, Jackson Oehn, Edward Fellows, Tom Hensgen, Sam Ryan, George Scott, Scott Pearce, Elliott Hull, Ryan Colvin, Joel Bradbury, Sam Gaynor, Craig Pullen, Michael O'Dea, Brenton Crawford, Brendon Gaynor, Henry Bance, Lachlan Gregurke, Scott Lucas, Richard Robinson, James Hodges, Phillip Cowan
Umpires: Rob Wilson, Paul Smith and Ryan Dedini (RUA) 

Under 17 
Wagga Tigers ...... 4.3 .. 12.6 .. 19.7 .. 24.11 (155)
Griffith .................. 0.3 .. 1.6 .. 4.10 .. 4.10 (34)

Goals - Wagga: D Howard 6, J Maslin 3, M King 3, C. Byrne 2, R McMullen 2, R Cahalan 2, F Inglis, B Farrell, J Gunning, C Lovell, S Armstrong, N Cooke
Griffith: T Bruns, N Witherspoon, D Peruzzi, J Gordon
Best players - Wagga: M King, D Howard, L McGregor, S Armstrong, T Delaney, C Lovell
Griffith: N Witherspoon, J Gordon, D Peruzzi, T Bruns
Wagga Tigers:- Dougal Howard, Max King, Jeremiah Maslin, Riley McMullen, Connor Byrne, Reed Cahalan, Campbell Lovell, Sam Armstrong, Ben Farrell, Fergus Inglis, Nathan Cooke, Jake Gunning, Tim Delaney, Liam McGregor, Lachlan Lloyd, Sheamus Byrne, Matt Dean, Jackson Kelly, Will Eady, Brady Morton, Will Morley, Jesse Lawrence, Corey Lucas, Angus Lloyd
Griffith:- Connor Matheson, Jordon Burley, Dylan Evans; Pat McMahon, Fletcher Josling, Toby Polkinghorne; Drew Cassidy, Alex Blissett, Daniel Peruzzi; Tom Shannon, Brad Moore, Luke Peruzzi; Henry Delves, Nick Witherspoon, Lachlan Evans; Joel Gordon, Ben Tarr (capt), John Evans; Tom West, Tyler Bruns, Ben Fitzgerald, Angus McAlister, Daniel Richens, Joel Harrison
Umpires: Greg Walsh, Pat Ross and Drew Raynes (RUA)

A summary of match report, with thanks
The Griffith Swans were outgunned from start to finish in the Riverina Football League under 17s grand final on Sunday, losing to the Wagga Tigers by 121 points in a lopsided finale.  Despite entering the contest as outsiders, the Swans had shown plenty of form to beat Turvey Park, Mangoplah-CUE and Leeton-Whitton to make the grand final. But the gap in experience and size between the sides proved the difference as the Tigers never gave the red and white side a sniff at Narranndera Sportsground.
“The boys tried and tried on the day, but they (Wagga) were a far better side in terms of depth and bigger bodies around the field, which counted against us,” Griffith co-coach Matt Noonan said. “We didn’t have the guys to match their high-flying players up forward. “Obviously they have some big players up front like Max King, who’s about two metres tall. “They were a bit angry and dirty at themselves at the end of the game, but when the margin was like that, you can prepare yourself for the disappointment for a couple of quarters.”
Tigers jumped out to an early lead and had seven scoring shots to lead by a comfortable margin of 24 at the end of the first term. Wagga then went on with the job and kicked an even 12 goals in each half to shut the door on Griffith’s premiership dreams. 
The Swans were never seriously in the hunt despite their best efforts. Griffith did manage to kick 3.4 in the third quarter as they gained more possession, but it was hardly enough to put a dent in the already sizable margin their opponents enjoyed as they cruised through to the win. Wagga’s Dougal Howard kicked five goals in a big first half, but it was the towering teammate King who stole the show and was adjudged best on ground.
Despite the size of the loss, Noonan said every player had made giant strides forward in their development and hoped they would return to the club to continue their growth. “Every single one of them has improved in some facet of the game, which is good to see, they’re a terrific group of young men now,” he said.  “So hopefully they can stick around and play a bit of senior footy from here on in and form the nucleus of a first-grade premiership in three- or four-years' time. (By Scott Hazlewood - The Area News, Wednesday September 26, 2012). 

Netball - A grade: Narrandera 53 d Wagga Tigers 50; B grade: Turvey Park 43 d Wagga Tigers 35; C grade: Turvey Park 35 d Collingullie-AK 29; C2 grade: Leeton-Whitton 29 d Turvey Park 20; Juniors U15's: Leeton-Whitton 47 d Narrandera 32 

bottom of page