top of page

Click on 2008 season to return

Click on image to enlarge


Saturday, October 11, 2008 at Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club

Major Sponsor: Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club


Senior grade

Best & Fairest: Craig Conlan

Runner-up: Michael Duncan

Most Consistent: Brett Owen

Most Improved: James Smith

Best Utility (Fergie King Memorial): Jason Bertacco

Most Goals Kicked: Craig Conlan

Coach’s Award: Simon Spiers

Reserve grade

Best & Fairest: Chris McGann

Runner-up: Graham Foley

Most Consistent: Rhys Best

Most Improved: Luke Catanzariti

Best Utility: Mitch McDonell

Most Goals Kicked: Daniel Keenan

Coach’s Award: Cameron Harrison

Under 18's

Best & Fairest: Dylan Bruce

Runner-up: Hayden Shaw

Most Consistent: Sam Wood

Most Improved: Brock Hutchinson

Best Utility: Oliver Delves

Most Goals Kicked (Brian Files Memorial): Hayden Heath, Glen Snaidero & Jack Tyrell

Most Promising Player (Ronnie Williams Memorial): Glen Snaidero

Encouragement Award (Fred Owen Memorial Shield): Bill Tyrell

Coach’s Award: Jack Tyrell


A grade

Best & Fairest: Diane White

Players’ Player: Karen Conlan

Coach’s Award: Lani Houston

B grade

Best & Fairest: Alison Ward

Players’ Player: Louise Martin

Coach’s Award: Louise Martin

C grade

Best & Fairest: Kim Savage

Players’ Player: Katrina West

Coach’s Award: Hannah Toscan


Best & Fairest: Peta Larkin

Players’ Player: Ellen John

Coach’s Award: Michelle Polkinghorne


Most Conscientious Player/Clubperson (Joan Hicks Memorial): Richelle Turner

Club Person of the Year (Bill Simmons Memorial): Norm Campbell

AFL Volunteer Recognition - 10 years' service: George & Donna Duncan, Damien & Leanne Scott

150 senior games milestone: Myles Bunn & Michael Duncan

100 senior games milestone: Craig Conlan & Simon Spiers

Life Membership: Karen Conlan (200 netball games) & Ernie Wade.

Swans recognise their top players at presentation night

The Griffith Swans held their annual presentation night, with several prestigious awards handed out during a night celebrating good efforts on the football field and the netball courts. Top of the list of awards was a life membership awarded to Karen Conlan. Conlan is the only female to have played more than 200 games for the club. Ernie Wade also received a life membership and was joined on the stage by other special awarded recipients, including Norm Campbell, Rishelle Turner and Di White.

Club president George Duncan thanked all the club's sponsors for the past season, saying without them they wouldn't not to able to run the club as well as what they have in the past 12 months. After a year of rebuilding senior player stocks from local juniors, the club has already recruited a couple of key position players to add onto the young list including defender Matt Noonan from Wagga Tigers as a joint assistant coach and Aaron Cocks a full forward / mid fielder from the Golden Rivers League who is looking forward to next season. The Area News - Wednesday, October 29, 2008

bottom of page