top of page

 1983 SEASON 
Click on 1983 season to return

 GRIFFITH NOTES: "Riverina Football Record" July 10, 1983 - No. 12 

Robert Greenwood must have the Barry Manilow song. ‘What can I say' ringing through his head as the Ist Grade were again beaten by a disciplined, fast moving Wagga side in a game they had to win. This week his broken air conditioning unit in his car isn't the only problem facing him as we face another tough encounter against Ariah Park today. Glenn MacLeod won the lrrigana award with Gerard Toscan and Darrell Collins putting in good games.

Ian Wade led his team to a hard-fought win in which Stevie Crack won the award with a sterling display of football in which even the so-called experts could learn a thing or two. Drew ‘Denis’ Luhrs, ‘Rocket’ Roy Agresta, Mike Thompson and Greg ‘Splat’ Collins played well. This side has an excellent chance of re-paying Ian Wade (some calling Sheedy) for his 30 years' service to the Club by contesting the finals this year and taking home the Pennant.

Well, this once unknown coach John ‘David Parkin' Bordignon has welded together a formidable combination in the Under 19's with the Wagga side being another feather in their cap (in their quest for the Holy Grail) as their push towards the finals gathers momentum. Jamie Alpen won the Billy Bock Award for yet another ‘Ross Glendinning' style game and Paulie 'the mouth' Romagnolo (correct spelling, editor please note) put in what he believes was his best performance all year. But the whole team put in a performance worth congratulating. But each week is a do-or-die encounter so don't relax this week.

Congratulations must be extended to Trish & Glenn Harrison and Barbs & Ian Wade on additions to their already famous families.

Notes No. 13 >>>

bottom of page