top of page


Club Notes    Player Stats    Swans Awards    SWDFL Awards


IN: Roy Agresta (National Service), Norm Anderson, Terry Bennett (Kerang), Andy Cook, Rodney Dale (Jerilderie), Grant Luhrs (Sydney Univ), Trevor Miller (Jerilderie), Bob Patterson (St George), Ralph and Wayne Robins (Whitton), Ralph Todd (Denilquin).

OUT: John Candusso (work), Bruce Clarke (Coleambally), Max Eldridge (Rugby League), Noel Haase, Robert Hogan (Barellan Utd), Geoff Riley (Warrandyte), Ron Russell (Windsor Zillmere), Harry Sanson (Lake Burgooney), David Simmons (Windsor Zillmere), Roger Thom (Lake Burgooney), Greg Thompson (Sydney Uni.), Victor Wilson; Rodney Dale (North Wagga).

Round 1 - Sunday April 15, 1973 at Ex-Servicemen's Oval

Griffith .......................... 3.3 .. 5.5 .. 14.11 .. 19.19 (133)

Ariah Park-Mirrool .... 0.5 .. 3.10 .. 7.12 .. 10.14 (74)

Goals: Griffith: G Luhrs 7, R Todd 3, T Bennett 2, M Jackson 2, K Kirkpatrick 2, B Forbes, T Miller, R Robins

AP-M: R Walker 3, B Bate 2, B Day 2, N Fairman, L Lewis

Best players: Griffith: I Wade, R Todd, K Kirkpatrick, N Anderson, R Patterson, G Luhrs

AP-M: B Bate, G Wynd, B Quade, R Walker

Griffith: George Duncan, Ian Wade, Wayne Robins; Norm Anderson*, Sid Robins, Noel Brown; Garry Parslow, Ralph Todd*, Darryl Collis; Ralph Robins, Bruce Forbes, Martin Jackson; Adley 'Bill' Biron, Grant Luhrs, Gary Gardner; Trevor Miller (c-c)*, Bob Patterson*, Kevin Kirkpatrick; Terry Bennett*, Colin Wood

Umpire: L Pritchard (VFL).   Gate: $182.30

Other matches - Ardlethan 8.8 (56) def by Turvey Park 21.23 (159), Ganmain 5.6 (36) def by Narrandera 24.24 (168), Grong Grong-Matong 25.10 (160), Leeton 16.14 (100) def Coolamon 14.12 (96), 

Reserves: Griffith 22.19 (155) d Ariah Park-Mirrool 0.1 (1)

Goals: R Spears 9, P Botten 4, R Taylor 4, R Agresta, T Agresta, T Hughes, Glen Luhrs, T Reed

Best players: R Spears, P Botten, R Agresta, T Agresta, R Taylor, I Nancarrow

Round 2 - Sunday April 22, 1973 at Gissing Oval