top of page


Club Notes    Player Stats    Swans Awards    RFL Awards

Click on image to enlarge


IN: Kevin Baxter (Waratah, NT), Danny Beriman (Robinvale), Nick Donnellon (Coleambally), Shayne Driscoll, Paul Eyles (Eaglehawk), Cory Frater (Rivcoll), Mark Hildebrandt (St Marys, NT), Matt Pollock (Eaglehawk), Shane Treacy (Lake Cargelligo).

OUT: Gary Argus (Coleambally), Danny Baxter (Leeton-Whitton), Matt Cox (Cairns Saints), Damien Crotty (Ardlethan), David Gee, Michael Elliott, Dean Hilton (Coolamon), Tony Mahar (Belconnen), Frank Matthews (Waratah-NT), Mark O'Connor, Aaron O'Keefe, Adrian Stibbard, Silvanis Tipiloura (Waratah, NT); Kevin Baxter (Waratah, NT). 



GRIFFITH Swans travel to Gumly Oval, Wagga, on Sunday for their first round Riverina Football League clash against East Wagga-Kooringal. The Swans have a rather different looking team from last season, when they reached the elimination final against Narrandera. A strong policy of blooding the youth has been instilled by new coach Paul Eyles, who is looking to Griffith's up and coming players to fill the void.
While it may take time for these players to find their way in senior football, the club still has a very strong nucleus of senior players including new recruits Mark Hildebrandt, Danny Beriman and Matthew Pollock. 

Pollock and Eyles both come from Eaglehawk in the Bendigo League, while Beriman will be a key forward for the side and hales from Robinvale. Hildebrandt is an exciting prospect and trained with the club for the first time on Wednesday after finishing second in the best and fairest count in the Northern Territory League this season.
One of the clubs' strengths appears to be their running men and on ballers. 1998 coach Phillip Rowston and Dean Jameison are still at the club and are consistent performers in the league. While around half a dozen under 18 players will be in the senior line-up for the opening round, Eyles earlier in the week said the aim is to try and give them experience for next season. Eyles has been signed for three years and appears to have put in place a strong youth policy which will help the club in regard to depth in the future. 
The Swans have had two trials games during the season, defeating Rivcoll, before going down to RFL club Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong and Sunday will give the Swans a clearer picture of their fitness and standing in the competition.  (The Area News - Friday, April 9, 1999).

Round 1 - Sunday April 11, 1999 at Gumly Oval 2.10pm

East Wagga-Kooringal ... 7.1 .. 11.6 .. 16.10 .. 18.14 (122)

Griffith ............................... 2.3 .. 3.4 .. 3.6 .. 5.7 (37)

Goals: EWK: Brent Loughton 8, Kent Butcher 2, Jamie Charlton 2, Mark Gorham 2, Michael Kemp 2, Geoff Hopkins, Craig McGough

Griffith: Kevin Baxter 2, Danny Beriman, Michael Duncan, Shane Ruyg

Best: EWK: Tom Gorham, Brent Loughton, Mick McPherton, Andrew Patmore, Nathan McDonald, Bruce Willett