top of page

 2024 SEASON 

Click on 2024 season to return


OUR two red and white clubs first met in a match at Griffith in 1995, the Demons first of three initials seasons in the Riverina Football League, but after that did not play each other again until 2011. The Demons on Saturday make only their sixteenth visit to the Griffith Exies Oval.
The first competitive fixture at Exies Oval came on August 13, 1995, when the Demons, then Collingullie-Ashmont, finished the year second last on the ladder winning only one match all season. The Swans won the match easily for a record score of 211 to 36, the record result still stands today. 
Griffith: — Gabriel Weetra, Shane Ruyg, Phillip Rowston (c-c), Jamie Bennett, Don Moran, Chris Conlan, Jamie Reid, Brett Davis, Owen Geddes, Greg Dreyer, Dean McGowan, Greg Collins, Danny Files, Tony Butcher, Rick Burdett, Tim Fraser, Mathew Cox, Matthew Kenny, Daniel Tuohey, Michael Reid. 

The Demons having won successive Farrer League flags from 2008 to 2010 but after several unsuccessful attempts to return to Riverina League finally found themselves back in 2011 under a new banner Collingullie-Ashmont-Kapooka.
It took the Griffith side five seasons to win at home against the stronger Demons. The first win came in 2015, the year Demons once again changed their club's name, this time to Collingullie-Glenfield Park.
Ben Jaffrey reporting from 'The Area News' wrote, "A four-goal final quarter handed Griffith victory 15.9 (99) to 11.6 (72) over Collingullie. Swans coach Brandon Mathews said his side looked the goods when they stuck to their game-plan. "We played how we want to play," Mathews said. "The first quarter was really good for us and them (CGP) were really good in the second quarter. "It's pretty basic how we play footy, it's a lot of team orientated stuff. "We were being a little selfish at times but in the second half everyone got on board." 
Griffith: — Tom Groves, James Keenan, Che Jenkins; Kieran Hume, James Taylor, James Fallon; Daniel Peruzzi, Michael Handby, Will Griggs; Kieran Ruyg, James Toscan, Jonathon Gastin; Richard Malone, Chris Cerato, Dean Crack; Michael Griffiths, Michael Duncan, Ben King; Sam Daniel, Royce Johns, Dean Villata.
Collingullie-Glenfield Park: — Joe Banks, Geoff Spriggs, Will Haines; Harry Perryman, Tim Haines, Daniel Kennedy; Lachlan Moore, Chris Gordon, Tom Pocock; Nick Perryman, Brayden Ambler, Ben Mackenzie; Matthew Kennedy, James Morris, Ryan Dean; Chris Jackson, Nick Kennedy, James Kennedy; Zac Billingham, Jack Turnbull, Jake Gunning. 
The Demons were last here at the Exies Oval on June 3, 2023, and were well beaten 101 - 29, have since changed their club's name, this time calling themselves Collingullie-Wagga Demons!
Swans record against Demons at Griffith Exies Oval: Played 15, Won 7, Lost 7, Draw 1.
Biggest Swans win:  32.19 (211) - 5.6 (36), R16, August 13, 1995.
Biggest Demons win: 24.16 (160) - 9.4 (58), R15, August 4, 2013.
Most Swans goals:  11 - Dean McGowan, R16, August 13, 1995.
Most Demons goals: 12 - Marc Geppert, R15, August 4, 2013.

NEXT - 22.06.24

bottom of page