top of page

 2024 SEASON 

Click on 2024 season to return



HOME ground advantage does not always dominate fixtures between Griffith and Leeton-Whitton when played on the Griffith Exies Oval. Of the 28 matches played there since 1995, 18 have resulted in home wins against ten losses. Saturday's game will, we trust, continue the series in the same vein.
The clubs' very first meetings since Leeton amalgamated with Whitton-Yanco to become the Leeton-Whitton United Football Club was on Saturday June 3, 1995, with the home side taking all four points, 107-76.  "Billy" McGowan, the charismatic full forward who enjoyed huge popularity with Swans supporters chipped in with eight majors.

A year later the result was the same except this time, Swans without captain coach Phil Rowston sidelined with a season ending injury, started the game with a ten goal first quarter blitz to thrash the Crows 158-15.

Griffith: Dean Jamieson, Trevor Clarke, Jamie Bennett, Damien Scott, Chris Conlan, Don Moran, Brian Evans, Scott Lord, Greg Collins, Mick Smith, Gary Argus, Matt Bunn, Tim Fraser, Glenn Smith, Mark Brown, Brian Stanislaus, Daniel Tuohey, Patrick Dempsey, Mathew Cox, Brenton Harrison.
Other notable clashes include 87-93 loss for the Swans in 2013.  Brendan Fevola, the 32-year-old AFL Coleman Medalist who entertained so many people in his Carlton days, made his one-off appearance with Griffith. The "Fev" backing up after kicking nine goals for Yarrawonga the previous day did not disappoint the 1500 onlookers by booting seven. But it was Crows' teenager Brad Boots with a goal after the siren that consigned the Swans to a six-point loss to their arch-rivals.
Griffith: Royce Johns, Richard Malone, James Taylor; Jonathon Gastin, Jack Tyrell, Tim Matheson; Tom West, Che Jenkins, Daniel Moysey; James Fallon, James Toscan, Mathew Crack; Kris Duncan, Brendan Fevola, Dean Crack; Joel Gordon, Guy Orton (c-c), Michael Duncan; Glen Snaidero, Brandon Mathews, Tom Webb, Daniel Peruzzi
Leeton-Whitton: Jarrod Gornall, Nathan Carn, Chris Downes; Sean Browning, Will Overs, Craig Townsend; Jonathon Spina, Ben Curley, Matthew Irvin; Brad Boots, Kodie O'Malley, Tom Meline; Greg Halden, Joshua King, Grant Commins; Mason Dryburgh, Bryce O'Garey, Lachlan O'Callaghan; Tom Morton, Siale Howe, Jordie Petitt, Josh O'Callaghan.
In all the games played at Exies Oval since their last loss in 2017, the year Leeton-Whitton were Riverina Football League premiers, the Griffith Swans have definitely had the upper hand with five wins to nil.

Swans record against Crows at Griffith Exies Oval: Played 28, Won 18, Lost 10, Draw 0.
Biggest Swans win: 23.20 (158) - 1.9 (15), R10, June 23, 1996.

Biggest Crows win: 22.20 (152) - 6.11 (47), R1, April 8, 2000.
Most Swans goals: 9 - Don Moran, R10, June 23, 1996.

Most Crows goals: 9 - Damien Lang, R15, August 6, 2006.


bottom of page