top of page

 2024 SEASON 

Click on 2024 season to return



THE "Grasshoppers" from Coolamon make their 82nd visit to Griffith on Saturday with a good record in recent times.

The Coolamon side are unbeaten at Griffith Exies Oval since 2019 and have lost only five times to Griffith in the last 17 years. Time for a change! The Rovers first appeared at Griffith on August 13, 1939, Swans' first season in the South West League.

The local team under captain Fred Savage, won 65-45 at the Griffith Showground. Five goals to nil in the final term sealing victory for Griffith with goal sneak Bill Barry kicking five goals.
The clash of former South Melbourne teammates, Don Keyter and Ian Gillett was heralded to be the greatest ever seen in the South West League when the two sides met on Sunday June 28, 1959, at the Showground. Neil Griggs in his weekly, 'Best of Aussie Rules Briefs' wrote, "Gillett, bigger and stronger might have just taken the edge at the centre bounce but Keyter's greater pace and mobility saw him cover much more territory and 'honours even' would be a decision that should make the most partisan follower of either team happy. 
Bill Biron played his best game for a long time and was the popular choice of best player afield. Playing in the back pocket he was the key man in a very solid Griffith defence and did a terrific job.

Bill was keen for a run on the ball in the last quarter but was told by the coach Don Keyter. "No dice, you are doing too well back there". And sure, enough it was his grand play that did much to control Coolamon's desperate last quarter rally and one glorious mark he pulled down won for him another 'best mark of the day' award."

The red and whites 101-60 win moved them up one place to fourth on the ladder, replacing Ganmain on percentage.
Griffith: - Charlie O'Brien, Bob Tyndall, Bill Biron; Bob Carroll, Bob Spears, Don Best; Fred Gambell, Bill Tyndall, Mick Newman; Les Collis, Don Keyter (c-c), Len Maples; Tim Clarke, Kevin Rowston, Peter Campbell; Don Bitcon, Doug Koehler, Vic Hathaway; John Forbes.
Coolamon Rovers: - Pat Keogh, Keith Tipping, Tony Keogh; Mick Whybo, Neville Thompson, Brian Browne; Brian Bradley, Kevin Pleming, Ray Pieper; 'Bob' Patterson, Tom O'Brien, Ron Guthrie; Don Bell, Trevor Tipping, Arthur Richardson; Ian Gillett (c-c), John McKelvie, Bob Harris; Chas. Cooper.
Before the opening bounce between the two clubs on May 26, 2013, a minute's silence was held in remembrance of Swans stalwart Mary Collins. The match coincided with a fundraising event for the Griffith Breast Cancer Support Group.

The Swans swapped their iconic red and white colours for pink but were outclassed by visiting Hoppers to the tune of 76 points, 101-25. From there the Kindra Park club would go on and win their first RFL title in 13 years. 
Griffith: - Royce Johns, Glen Snaidero, Chris Niven; Jonathon Gastin, James Taylor, Che Jenkins; Ben Tarr, Michael Duncan, Tom West; Dean Crack, James Toscan, James Kennedy; James Fallon, Trevor Richards, Daniel Peruzzi; Lance Poka, Guy Orton (c-c), Tim Matheson; Cameron Harrison, Andrew Cappello, Steven McCanna, Riley Holland
Coolamon Rovers: - Alex Rogers, Murray Stephenson, Adam McKenzie; Jake Wiggers, Connor Neyland, Mitch Stephenson; Jesse Rapley, Ryan Chamberlain, Hayden Bradley; Ben Fixter, Mitchell O'Brien, Zachary Robinson; Lew Roberts, Tyler Owens, Luke Maloney; Ben Edyvean, Greg Aki, Jamie Maddox; Hayden Leary, Sam Robinson, Marshal Macauley, Mark Crawford.
Swans record against Hoppers at Griffith: Played 81, Won 52, Lost 28, Draw 1.
Biggest Swans win:  25.19 (169) - 2.4 (16), R11, June 29, 1952
Biggest Hoppers win: 21.15 (141) - 8.6 (54), R8, June 4, 2022.
Most Swans goals: 8 - Roy Geddes, R11, June 25, 1950, Peter Curtis, R4, May 17, 1953, Ron O'Neill, August 31, R18, 1969, Ralph Robins, R18, August 31, 1975 and Gary Argus, R2, April 12, 1997.
Most Hoppers goals: 10 - Greg Rudd, R15, August 1, 1999.


bottom of page