top of page

 2024 SEASON 

Click on 2024 season to return

Round 2 - Saturday April 20, 2024 at Griffith Exies Oval 2.10pm
Griffith .................... 4.6 .. 6.9 .. 9.17 .. 13.18 (96) 
Leeton-Whitton .... 2.0 .. 5.0 .. 5.1 .. 7.4 (46) 

Goals - Griffith: K Spencer 4, O Bartter 2, J Girdler 2, T Baxter 2, T Tyson 2, C Kilpatrick
Leeton-Whitton: J Hodge 6, R Dunn
Best players - Griffith: R Lucas, C Kilpatrick, K Spencer, T Baxter, T Tyson, D Peruzzi
Leeton-Whitton: T Meline, J Hodge, J Fisher, A Crelley, M Axtill, M Rainbird
Griffith Swans: Daniel Peruzzi, Willem Vaessen, Lachlan Wallace; Jack Rowston (capt), Riley Lucas, Charlie Cunial; Mason Rosengreen, Tom Baxter, Tom Tyson; Jordan Whitworth, Isaac Conlan, Kahlan Spencer; Oliver Bartter, Jack Neyland, Tom Powell; Nathan Richards, Cooper Kilpatrick, Tom Baxter; Broden Spencer, Bailey Morrissey, Billy Evans.
Leeton-Whitton: Jake Norman, Josh Fisher, Matthew Axtill; Will Wakeman, Tom Meline, Charlie McAdam; Chase Neutz, Matt Rainbird, Jack Coelli; Josh Stevens, Taj Doyle, Jude Clayton; Ryan Dunn, Jade Hodge, Bryce Rogers; Lewis Henley, Angus Crelley, Tom Groves (coach); Jyden Broadbent, Cohen Matthews, Cooper Jones.   
Umpires: Joel Fairman and Craig Tilston (RUA)

Match report: Despite suffering an opening half scare, Griffith ultimately did enough to secure victory over Leeton-Whitton in Riverina League local derby clash at Griffith Exies Oval. Greg Dreyer's Swans side were seeking to build some momentum after a disappointing opening round defeat, while the Crows under the leadership of Tom Groves, were hoping to take the first steps on an upsurge in form.

Swans' forward Heath Northey exited the starting line-up before the game through illness and was replace by Jack Neyland.
The home side appeared to have blown their chance of a large first quarter lead after wasting the wind advantage when they scored only 4 goals 6 behinds. Leeton-Whitton, however, were proving they were well up for the battle by scoring two goals straight.

The Crows were very much intent on ripping up the form book and with Jade Hodge kicking his 5th goal found themselves 15 points behind at half time 6.9 to 5.0. Griffith came out with renewed vigour in the third term and after some early inaccuracy in front of goals kicked 3.8 for the quarter to the Crows solidary point.  Griffith were now assuming control, and in the final term added a further four goals through Baxter (2), Tyson and Kahlan Spencer, his 4th for the game. However, Leeton-Whitton refused to throw the towel in, and Hodge followed up with his 6th for the match.
Other results: Collingullie-Wagga Demons 14.21 (105) def Mangoplah-Cookardinia-United-Eastlakes 6.8 (44), Coolamon Rovers 12.8 (80) def Turvey Park 11.6 (72), Narrandera 5.5 (35) def by Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong 14.18 (100); Wagga Tigers, bye.
Reserves: Griffith 21.14 (140) def Leeton-Whitton 1.3 (9)
Goals: D McDermott 7, B Kenny 3, B Aloisi 2, Z Dart 2, K Stevenson 2, K Ruyg, A Ray, S Robinson, M Ashcroft, S Culgan
Best players: J Crowe, D McDermott, A Ray, K Ruyg, W Dalton, B Parmenter
Griffith: Cameron Harrison, Sam Robinson, Sean Culgan; Brock Parmenter, Luke DeMamiel, Archie Ray; Jordan Crowe; Zachary Dart, Kieran Ruyg, Darcy McDermott; Xavier Quarisa, Rowan Patey, Mason Ashcroft; Blake Aloisi, Will Dalton, Gary Charles; Kalan Stevenson, Craig Violi, Bede Kenny, Riley Andreazza, Oliver Young
Under 17'5: Griffith 2.7 (19) def by Leeton-Whitton 10.12 (72)
Goals: Z Mitchell, O Young
Best players: T Jamieson, R Pagano, F Robertson, Z Spiers, R Andreazza, B Kenny
Griffith: Lucas Stevenson, Riley Andreazza, Harry Morel; Logan Newman, Bede Kenny, Stefan Guidolin; Beau Cooper, Jai Kenny, Tom Jamieson (capt), Zachary Spiers; Javier Bruce, Archie Forwood, Dhane Stevenson; Cruz Morrissey, Zavier Mitchell, Ray Pagano; Brody Summers, Fletcher Robertson, Oliver Young; Cooper Rand, Todd Hammond, Joshua Gee, Lachlan Waide, Jordan Virago.


Netball vs Leeton-Whitton - A grade: won 62-38, A reserve: won 47-37, B grade: won 40-33, C grade: won 65-11, U17's: won 33-15.

bottom of page