top of page

 1958 SEASON 
Click on 1958 season to return


A spirit of cheerful enthusiasm and optimism was the most noticeable feature that prevaded the gathering of enthusiasts that attended the Annual Dinner and Social of the Griffith Australian Rules Football Club in the C.W.A. Hall on Thursday night last.
The Club President, Mr. Dick Bitcon, presided at the dinner, which had been prepared by members of the Club's Ladies Auxiliary, and more than 80 thoroughly enjoyed the excellent repast.
After the dinner, Mr. Bitcon read quite a lengthy list of apologies included amongst which were President and Secretary of the SWDFL, Mr. A. E. Wood (life member), Mr. N. Guild (past president) and several players, supporters and trophy donors who were ill or unable to attend.
Club Trophies
In the absent of the donor, Mr. Wood, the President called on Mr. Col. Thomson to present the Best and Fairest trophy for the first eighteen to Don Bitcon.
Mr. Thomson said it was very unfortunate than Mr. Wood was unable to present owing to illness, but on his behalf he congratulated Don on winning the major award.
He felt it was well merited for Don had played well right throughout the season.
In accepting the trophy Don Bitcon, said he was very proud and happy to win this trophy and he will be trying to win it again next season. He was sure with a little luck the Griffith team would do very well next year.
Fred Bell presented his trophy, for the Best and Fairest in the second eighteen to John Forbes saying he had been told by all the good judges that the right player had won the award.
He congratulated John on his success and wished him continued success in future seasons.
John Forbes in reply said the wholehearted support of the other players had greatly assisted him to win this trophy and like Don Bitcon he too though the team would do well next year.

Home Game Trophies & Griffith Timbers Awards
Narrandera (April 13)
Len Polkinghorne trophy: Charlie O'Brien; W. & R. Fielder trophy: Odey Biron (2nds)

Leeton (May 4)
Griffith Timbers award: Bob Carroll, Noble Guild trophy: Bill Tyndall
Roy Taysom trophy: Colin Pannan (2nds)

Grong Grong-Matong (May 18)
Griffith Timbers award: Don Bitcon, Roy Taysom trophy: Ernie Perry
Ted Withnell trophy: John Lockhart (2nds)

Whitton (June 1)
Griffith Timbers award: Kevin Savage, Jeffrey's Menswear trophy: Bill Biron
Area Pharmacy trophy: Col Pannan (2nds)  

Ardlethan (June 22)
Griffith Timbers award: Vic Hathaway, Ted Withnell trophy: Les Collis
Bill Blair trophy: - (2nds)

Ariah Park-Mirrool (June 29)
Griffith Timbers award: Tom Allen, John Ritchie trophy: Bob Tyndall
Neil Griggs trophy: John Diggelmann (2nds)

Coolamon (July 13)
Griffith Timbers award: Fred Gambell, Aub Farrell (Area Hotel) trophy: Don Bitcon
Ron Charles trophy: Ron Maskiell (2nds)

Turvey Park (July 27)
Griffith Timbers award: Don Hurst, Dick Bitcon trophy: Jim Fielder
Joe Tyndall trophy: Colin Pannan (2nds) 

Ganmain (August 10)
Griffith Timbers award: Kevin Savage, Roy Edwards (Spiers) trophy: Don Bitcon
Roy Mackenzie trophy: Malcolm Mason (2nds)  

bottom of page