top of page

 1990 SEASON 
Click on 1990 season to return


Saturday, 27th October, 1990 at Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club

Major Sponsor: Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club


Senior grade

Best & Fairest: Gerard Toscan

Most Consistent: Mick Murphy

Most Improved: Damien Scott

Best Utility (Fergie King Memorial): Jason Wadley

Best in Finals: Ricky Burdett

Most Goals Kicked: Les Parish

Coach’s Award: Mick Murphy

Special Award: Damien Scott - (Coca Cola)

Reserve grade

Best & Fairest: Peter McDiarmid - (Neil Griggs Memorial)

Most Consistent: David Alpen

Most Improved: Brian Corner

Best Utility: Justin Barry

Best in Finals: Jamie Bennett

Most Goals Kicked: Peter McDiarmid

Coach’s Award: Wayne Spencer

Special Award: Joe Box - (David Taylor)

Under 18's

Best & Fairest: Christian Files & Dean Owen - (Charlie Forscutt Memorial)

Most Consistent: Robert Kelly

Most Improved: Scott Young

Best Utility: Jason Vaccari

Best in Finals: Tony Butcher

Most Goals Kicked: Travis Payne

Coach’s Award: Scott Collis

Special Award: Dean Owen - (Don Best)

Most Promising Player (Ronnie Williams Trophy): Gavin Owen

Encouragement Award (Fred Owen Memorial Shield): Edward Knight


A grade

Best & Fairest: Jenny Jefferies

Most Consistent: Jan Collins

Most Improved: Rachel Neville

Special Award: Peta Bennett & Julie Roberts


Most Conscientious Player/Clubperson (Joan Hicks Memorial): Martin O'Donnell

Club Person of the Year (Bill Simmons Memorial): n/a


By Brian Files

Griffith Australian Football senior coach Les Parish has been re-appointed as a New South Wales development officer for the Riverina area.

Parish worked in conjunction with Russell Campbell in the development of junior footballers during the 1990 season and has agreed to continue his association with the NSWFL next year.

He will commence his duties in March and will work with juniors from throughout the Riverina and Southern New South Wales until September.

As part of his duties, Parish will conduct coaching clinics at schools and within junior clubs as well as attending junior representative carnivals in the area.

The former Morris and Quinn Medallist recently re-signed with the Griffith Australian Football Club as senior coach after two years at the helm.

Meanwhile, 1990 Swans first grade best and fairest winner Gerard Toscan indicated at the club's presentation night at the Ex-Servicemen's Club on Saturday that he may retire from senior football.

The former State ruckman enjoyed a fine year in 1990 as the side's number one ruckman, but indicated farm commitments made it hard to train and thus took its toll.

A large crowd attended the club's presentation night to see Toscan collect his best and fairest, as well the presentation of awards in all grades.

Mick Murphy took out the senior most consistent trophy after an outstanding season while wingman Damien Scott was adjudged the most improved senior player.

Teenager Jason Wadley took out the best utility trophy and captain-coach Les Parish grabbed the senior goal kicking award.

Centre half forward Peter McDiarmid was presented with the reserve grade best and fairest trophy with David Alpen snaring the most consistent award.

First year player Brian Corner capped an impressive debut year by taking out the most improved trophy with Justin Barry being judged best utility.

In the under 18's, joint winners of the best and fairest award, Christian Files and Dean Owen, were presented with their trophies and ruckman Robert Kelly was adjudged most consistent.

Jason Vaccari grabbed the best utility trophy and Scott Young the most improved. Travis Payne took out the trophy for most goals.

Gavin Owen took the prestigious most promising player award donated by Mrs Williams and Edward Knight took out the equally prestigious Fred Owen Memorial Shield.

Best in the finals trophies in all grades were: Rick Burdett (firsts), Jamie Bennett (seconds) and Tony Butcher in the under 18's.

Special coaches awards were presented to Mick Murphy in the seniors, Wayne Spencer in reserves and Scott Collis in the thirds.

The special sponsors awards were taken out by Damien Scott, Joe Box and Dean Owen.

Former coach, senior best and fairest and long serving player Martin O'Donnell was awarded for his contribution to the Griffith Football Club when he took out the Joan Hicks Memorial award.

O'Donnell started his career in the junior ranks in Griffith and apart from a brief stint with Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong in the mid-80's, has played all his football with the club.

Utility player Andrew Romagnolo was also fated at the presentation night for playing his 100th senior game during the year.

Jenny Jeffrey was presented with the netball best and fairest at the function.

The Area News - Wednesday October 31, 1990

bottom of page