top of page

 1991 SEASON 
Click on 1991 season to return

Click on image to enlarge


Saturday, 12th October 1991 at Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club

Major Sponsor: Griffith Ex-Servicemen's Club


Senior grade

Best & Fairest: Peter King

Most Consistent: Ian Geddes

Most Improved: Jamie Bennett

Best Utility (Fergie King Memorial): Mark O'Connor

Best in Finals: Chris Conlan

Most Goals Kicked: Shane Ruyg

Coach’s Award: Paul Biron

Special Award: Peter King - (Coca Cola)

Reserve grade

Best & Fairest: Colin Cassidy - (Neil Griggs Memorial)

Most Consistent: Christian Files

Most Improved: Jamie Reid

Best Utility: Grant Cameron

Best in Finals: Peter McDiarmid

Most Goals Kicked: Colin Cassidy

Coach’s Award: David Overs

Special Award: Colin Cassidy - (Steve Knox)

Under 18's

Best & Fairest: Tony Butcher - (Charlie Forscutt Memorial)

Most Consistent: Craig Ford

Most Improved: Paul Woolnough

Best Utility: Graham Foley

Best in Finals: Paul Woolnough

Most Goals Kicked: Jason Vaccari

Coach’s Award: Brad Colligan and Kenny O'Driscoll

Special Award: Tony Butcher - (Don Best)

Most Promising Player (Ronnie Williams Trophy): Paul Rovere

Encouragement Award (Fred Owen Memorial Shield): Glenn Collis


A grade

Best & Fairest: Karen Evans

Coach’s Award: Nicole Hathaway


Most Conscientious Player/Clubperson (Joan Hicks Memorial): Adrian Pavese

Club Person of the Year (Bill Simmons Memorial): Barry Sidlow

Life Memberships: Roy Agresta and Stephen Best.


Swans honour winners

By Brian Files

The Griffith Australian Football Club wrapped up a good season with the presentation night held on Saturday at the Ex-Servicemen's Club.

The highlight of the evening was the attendance of Melbourne Football Club's full forward Allen Jakovich who spoke to the large crowd in attendance.

He acknowledged all of the winners and made the comment that players have to do that little bit extra if the club wants to be a power in the RFL next season.

There were plenty of awards handed out at the presentation and none were more deserving than the life memberships bestowed on President Roy Agresta and vice-president Stephen Best.

Peter King took out the best and fairest in first grade, Ian Geddes was adjudged the most consistent, Jamie Bennett the most improved, Mark O'Connor the best utility and Shane Ruyg kicked the most goals.

In the coach's award, Paul Biron received the trophy, Peter King won the special award with 24 points and Chris Conlan the best in the finals.

In reserve grade, Colin Cassidy was the best and fairest and Christian Files picked up the most consistent award.

Jamie Reid took out the most improved, Grant Cameron was awarded the best utility and most goals were kicked by Cassidy.

Cassidy made it a treble when he picked up the special award with 26 votes and David Overs was presented with the coach's award, while captain of the side, Peter McDiarmid was adjudged to be best in the finals.

In the premiership winning under 18 side, Tony Butcher received the best and fairest and the special award with 30 votes, Craig Ford won the most consistent trophy, Graham Foley, best utility and Jason Vaccari was the best goal kicker.

A special presentation of the Fred Owen Memorial Shield by Garry Owen for the under 18 encouragement awards went to the ever-improving Glen Collis.

In the netball, Karen Evans was adjudged best and fairest and Nicole Hathaway won the coach's award, while all players received a medal as thanks for their efforts during the season.

The Joan Hicks Memorial Shield, presented by Member for Riverina Darling Noel Hicks, for the most conscientious player in the club went to Adrian Pavese for his services during the year and the Bill Simmons Memorial award for the best club person went to Barry Sidlow.

Last, but not least, was the award donated by club stalwart Mrs Ronnie Williams for the most promising player in the under 18's and this was won by Paul Rovere, while a special presentation of a Swans jumper went to Ben Dalnevo.

The Area News - Wednesday, October 16, 1991

bottom of page