top of page

Click on image to enlarge


IN: Henry Delves (Ainslie), Reece Matheson (Barellan United), Jack and Tom Powell (Ainslie), Jack Rowston (Banyule), Kieran Ruyg (Belconnen Magpies), Thomas Shannon (Emmaus St Leos, VAFA).

OUT: Isaac Campbell (Culcairn), Daniel, Luke and Mathew Peruzzi (Coleambally), Beau Rees (Northern Jets).


THE final piece of the Riverina League's coaching puzzle is in place after Griffith confirmed club stalwart Greg Dreyer will be at the helm next season, Dreyer, a club life member, was due to share the roll with Will Griggs this year, before the Swans opted not to participate in the AFL Riverina Championship. 

Griggs has since opted to stay at home club Queanbeyan Tigers, where he played this year, after five seasons and two grand final appearances at the Swans.
Dreyer will be assisted by club junior and former VFL player Leigh Owen, who was also set to return to the Swans this year had they played, while captain James Toscan will fill a junior development role.
Dreyer has taken control of the under 15s program for some time, and president Jeff Harris said the familiarity with a number of youngsters who have either progressed to the seniors, or are on the verge of doing so, will be an advantage.

"He's been doing a fair bit of the 15s program over the last decade, and some of those kids are the ones coming into senior footy now so he's really got a good connection with our young brigade," Harris said.
"Greg's very well respected by the kids coming through, and it's a good link because we've got a wealth of talent and it's really important we get the that transition right. 

"For us to put a group of locals in those roles probably sums up what we've about as a footy club for the last few years. We're promoting guys who are continually putting back into the club.

"We've been working on it (coaching structure) for a while and we figured that's where we'd like to end up. "Greg was going to be our senior co-coach with Will, so it's a natural progression.
Harris said Toscan will work specially with the juniors to help ease the challenge of assimilating to senior football. "He's heavily engage with the youth with some individual mentoring," Harris said.

(The Area News - Monday November 23, 2020).



ALBURY'S Jacob Conlan had played some top-level football before arriving at Tiger-land, but he'd never come across the professionalism. "Definitely the pre-season was different to what I was used to, three nights a week and everyone rocks up, it's not just the 10 blokes we had up at the Swans in November, here we had 60-odd and then everyone goes to the gym," he explained.
"But it was the video (analysis), they'd video a game every now and then in Griffith, maybe a final, but there were no reviews and no snippets on your own personal game, which is good. I like it."
Conlan signed with Albury after the 2019 season where he had won the Riverina Football League goalkicking with 66 for his junior club, Griffith Swans.
COVID guaranteed there would be no football last year, but it allowed Conlan and younger brother Lucas to ease into the Ovens and Murray lifestyle. "Just the pace of the game, it's so much quicker and you've got players coming out from the AFL, both in our team and some others, it's pretty unreal," he offered.
Conlan had played a handful of NEAFL games with Canberra Demons in 2019, but when a former player returned, he was on the outer and returned home, only to play in a second successive losing grand final.
Under the Ovens and Murray's players points system, the Conlan siblings are four-pointers, which places pressure on them to perform.
And it certainly didn't look good for Jacob when he kicked six straight behinds in the second game against Wangaratta Rovers and went goalless. "I don't know what that was, it was just one of those days where it wasn't working and once you miss a few, it starts to get in your head," he admitted.
"It's never been a weakness, I'm not elite or anything, but I'd back myself to kick more goals than points, but that was just a rough day in front of the sticks."
Conlan has shown his class in the games since, particularly with a five-goal haul against the miserly Wangaratta defence last week, booting three majors in the first quarter to blow the game open.
He now leads the Doug Strang Medal with 21, although the Tigers and Yarrawonga have played one more game than the other eight teams. Conlan faces another stern test away to Lavington today.
Given former Ovens and Murray top defender Brant Dickson is out injured, there's every chance another ex-VFL backman in Nick Meredith will oppose the strongly built 191cm, 95kg Conlan.
This will be the 21-year-old's first clash against the long-time and fierce rival of the Tigers and the Panthers will be desperate to rebound from a poor performance against the Corowa-Rutherglen Roos.

(By Andrew Moir - Bordermail, Saturday, May 8, 2021)